How can we be sure that the funds donated to associations really serve the causes they defend? 

Our answer: by going to check it out for yourself!
In January 2020, girafon bleu went to meet its partner association theASGN: Association for the Protection of Giraffes in Niger.
 
girafon bleu x ASGN in search of wild giraffes.
For more than 20 years, this association has been fighting for the conservation of the last herds of giraffes in West Africa. And these giraffes are unique! They are the only ones in Africa to live outside natural reserves, they literally cohabit with the local populations: the villagers of the Kouré region.
These Niger giraffes, nicknamed "white giraffes" because of their lighter coats than other giraffes, have the distinction of being very easily approachable. They have always had the habit of mixing with the inhabitants of the region and are therefore not at all frightened by the human presence.
The loss of their natural habitat caused by deforestation is the number one source of their disappearance. In the 19th century, these West African giraffes were found from Senegal to Chad. But today, their population is entirely located in the Giraffes zone of Niger.
Only in this region can giraffes be seen so close to human habitation.

"To save the giraffes, we must also save the men and women who live with them" 

This is the signature of our partner association theASGN and its leader Omer Dovi. According to them, their mission to save the giraffes cannot be done without at the same time helping the local populations. Our partner association therefore combines its activity of research, scientific counting and defense of giraffes with a more humanitarian action, consisting mainly of the remittance of micro-credits to the various groups inhabiting the Giraffe area.
Regularly, the association will therefore go to meet the different villages that populate the giraffe zone. The facilitators of l'ASGN meet with women's groups to deliver micro-loans.
Why women? Because they are the ones who manage the life of the village. Agriculture, animal husbandry but also the education of children: over there it is the women who are moving for their community! The micro-loans that l'ASGN granted to them allow them to start income-generating activities, thus creating a mini-economy within the villages beneficial to all.
The ASGN has its new partner girafon bleu work for the delivery of micro-credits. And they are right to do so.

Awareness and economic development of villages allow local communities to respect and best preserve the natural habitat of their neighbors the giraffes. Although still very vulnerable, the latter have not ceased to reproduce in this region since the implementation of these actions. If there were around fifty 20 years ago, today there are around 600! And that's thanks to the association, and now also thanks to you, who order and proudly wear girafon bleu.
💙

The Doué-la-Fontaine Bioparc, the link between girafon bleu and its partner association

    girafon bleu is fortunate to collaborate with theASGN thanks to the intermediary of Pierre Gay, responsible for the conservation projects of the Biopark of Doué-la-Fontaine. Today, girafon bleu pays its donations to the ASGN via the Bioparc as part of the "Nature Projects" set up by Pierre Gay, its former manager (who has now handed over to his son François).

    "A tailor-made park for endangered animals"  

    the Biopark of Doué-la-Fontaine is a one of a kind park: it features only endangered species which it also defends in their home country! Favoring the diversity of species, this zoological park dedicates immense natural spaces for animals. On a daily basis, they work for animal well-being and respect for natural behavior. 

    Emmanuel de girafon bleu meets Pierre and Omar at the Bioparc in October 2019, symbolizing the start of the partnership.

     

    Almost everywhere in the world, the Bioparc of Doué-la-Fontaine and Pierre Gay finance "Nature Projects" whose mission is to protect species in danger of extinction while maintaining, as with the ASGN in Niger, a humanitarian dimension. 

    The ASGN team and Pierre Gay, all dressed up as girafon bleu and striking a pose in front of the white giraffes of Niger.
     

    Suffice to say that girafon bleu is very proud to be the partner of these giraffe superheroes.

    Peace n Giraffes

    manu

    If you adhere to the bottom of the giraffe, click here  👈

L'engagement associatif de girafon bleu


Comment être sûrs que les fonds reversés aux associations servent réellement les causes qu'elles défendent ? 

Notre réponse : en allant vérifier par soi-même !
En janvier 2020, girafon bleu est allé à la rencontre de son association partenaire l'ASGN : l'Association pour la Sauvegarde des Girafes du Niger.
 
girafon bleu x ASGN à la recherche de girafes sauvages.
Depuis plus de 20 ans, cette association lutte pour la conservation des derniers troupeaux de girafes d'Afrique de l'Ouest. Et ces girafes sont uniques ! Ce sont les seules en Afrique à vivre hors des réserves naturelles, elles cohabitent littéralement avec les populations locales : les villageois de la région de Kouré.
Ces girafes du Niger, surnommées "girafes blanches" en raison de leur pelages plus claires que chez les autres girafes, ont la particularité d'être très facilement approchables. Elles ont toujours eu l'habitude de côtoyer les habitants de la région et ne sont donc pas du tout effrayées par la présence humaine.
La perte de leur habitat naturel causé par la déforestation est la source n°1 de leur disparition. Au 19e siècle, on trouvait ces girafes d'Afrique de l'Ouest du Sénégal jusqu'au Tchad. Mais aujourd'hui, leur population se situe intégralement dans la zone Girafes du Niger.
Il n'y a que dans cette région où l'on peut voir des girafes aussi proches des habitations humaines.

"Pour sauver les girafes, il faut aussi sauver les hommes et les femmes qui vivent auprès d'elles" 

C'est la signature de notre association partenaire l'ASGN et de son dirigeant Omer Dovi. Selon eux, leur mission de sauvegarde des girafes ne peut pas se faire sans en même temps venir en aide aux populations locales. Notre association partenaire couple donc son activité de recherche, de comptage scientifique et de défense des girafes à une action plus humanitaire, consistant principalement en la remise de micro-crédits aux différents groupements peuplant la zone Girafes.
Régulièrement, l'association va donc aller à la rencontre des différents villages qui peuplent la zone girafe. Les animateurs de l'ASGN donnent rendez-vous à des groupements de femmes pour effectuer la remise de micro-crédits.
Pourquoi les femmes ? Car ce sont elles qui gèrent la vie du village. Agriculture, élevage mais aussi éducation des enfants : là-bas ce sont les femmes qui se bougent pour leur communauté ! Les micro-crédits que l'ASGN leur accorde leur permettent de démarrer des activités génératrices de revenus, créant ainsi une mini-économie au sein des villages profitable à tous.
L'ASGN fait bosser son nouveau partenaire girafon bleu pour la remise des micro-crédits. Et ils ont bien raison de le faire.

Sensibilisation et développement économique des villages permettent aux communautés locales de respecter et de préserver au mieux l’habitat naturel de leurs voisines les girafes. Bien qu’encore très vulnérables, ces dernières ne cessent de se reproduire dans cette région depuis la mise en place de ces actions. Si on en comptait une cinquantaine il y a 20 ans, aujourd'hui on en compte environ 600 ! Et ça c'est grâce à l'association, et maintenant aussi grâce à vous, qui commandez et portez fièrement girafon bleu.
💙

Le Bioparc de Doué-la-Fontaine, le lien entre girafon bleu et son association partenaire

    girafon bleu a la chance de collaborer avec l'ASGN grâce à l'intermédiaire de Peggy Lavergne, responsable des projets de conservation du Bioparc de Doué-la-Fontaine. Aujourd'hui, girafon bleu verse ses donations à l'ASGN via le Bioparc dans le cadre des "Projets Nature" mis en place par Pierre Gay, son ex-dirigeant (qui a aujourd'hui laissé la main à son fils François).

    "Un parc sur mesure pour des animaux menacés"  

    Le Bioparc de Doué-la-Fontaine est un parc unique en son genre : il ne présente que des espèces menacées qu'il défend également dans leur pays d'origine !  Privilégiant la mixité des espèces, ce parc zoologique dédie des espaces naturels immenses pour les animaux. Au quotidien, ils oeuvrent pour le bien-être animal et le respect des comportements naturels. 

    Emmanuel de girafon bleu rencontre Pierre et Omar au Bioparc en Octobre 2019, symbolisant le début du partenariat.

     

    À peu près partout dans le monde, le Bioparc de Doué-la-Fontaine et Pierre Gay financent des "Projets Nature" ayant pour mission de protéger des espèces en danger d'extinction tout en gardant, comme avec l'ASGN au Niger, une dimension humanitaire. 

    L'équipe de l'ASGN et Pierre Gay, tous sapés en girafon bleu et tapant la pose devant les girafes blanches du Niger.
     

    Autant vous dire que girafon bleu est très fier d'être le partenaire de ces super-héros des girafes.

    Peace n Giraffes

    manu

    Si t'adhères à fond girafon, clique ici  👈